| Author |
Message |
gotta run
WGA Member

Joined: 2007-11-26
Posts: 3259
|
Posted:
Tue Sep 08, 2009 8:02 am |
|
Anyone able to get to a geochecker link lately? I'm getting "account suspended" errors on any link. And no, I don't mean "I'm locked out," I mean the geochecker service might have gotten pulled??? |
| |
|
|
 |
Cachelovskys
WGA Member

Joined: 2006-11-27
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay, WI
|
Posted:
Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:01 am |
|
I get the same thing. This could be a headache.
"Please contact the billing/support department as soon as possible." Sounds like someone isn't paying their bills. Luckily, I only have a couple of caches that would need to be changed. |
| |
|
|
 |
-cheeto-
WGA Member

Joined: 2007-06-12
Posts: 4538
Location: Appleton, WI
|
Posted:
Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:11 am |
|
FYI, This has happened in the past...
I believe Groundspeak "owns" the domain name if I am not mistaken and/or took over some portion of ownership on geochecker.
It came back after a similar error within a day or 2. I wouldn't jump to changing everything just yet. |
| |
|
|
 |
gotta run
WGA Member

Joined: 2007-11-26
Posts: 3259
|
Posted:
Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:26 am |
|
I prefer to go with the "sinister plot" theory. |
| |
|
|
 |
Team Deejay
WGA Member

Joined: 2005-10-02
Posts: 2299
Location: Rochester, WI, US
|
Posted:
Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:58 am |
|
Perhaps a bit of confusion here. Evince (the other geochecker) is owned by a volunteer reviewer in Texas. I don't believe geochecker is associated with Groundspeak in any way. Maybe time to switch checkers?
| -cheeto- wrote: |
FYI, This has happened in the past...
I believe Groundspeak "owns" the domain name if I am not mistaken and/or took over some portion of ownership on geochecker.
It came back after a similar error within a day or 2. I wouldn't jump to changing everything just yet. |
|
| |
|
|
 |
-cheeto-
WGA Member

Joined: 2007-06-12
Posts: 4538
Location: Appleton, WI
|
Posted:
Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:54 am |
|
WHOIS info on the domain name geochecker.com shows that in fact Groundspeak owns the Geochecker.com domain name:
Registrant:
Groundspeak
PMB 321
24 Roy St
Seattle, WA 98109 4018
US
Registrar: 000DOM
Domain Name: GEOCHECKER.COM
Created on: 26-JUN-06
Expires on: 26-JUN-11
Last Updated on: 22-JUL-09
Administrative, Technical Contact:
Administrator, Groundspeak
Groundspeak
PMB 321
24 Roy St
Seattle, WA 98109 4018
US
206-405-1945
Domain servers in listed order:
RPNS3.DAILYRAZOR.COM
RPNS4.DAILYRAZOR.COM |
| |
|
|
 |
gotta run
WGA Member

Joined: 2007-11-26
Posts: 3259
|
Posted:
Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:36 am |
|
Seems to be back up now. I've heard...ah...from someone...that...ah...they might be limiting attempts to 5 now rather than 10...not that we've ever run across that situation...uhhh...I just heard about it from a friend of mine.  |
| |
|
|
 |
cheezehead
WGA Member

Joined: 2006-07-02
Posts: 5996
Location: Hayward, WI. USA
|
Posted:
Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:04 am |
|
|
|
 |
-cheeto-
WGA Member

Joined: 2007-06-12
Posts: 4538
Location: Appleton, WI
|
Posted:
Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:53 am |
|
I find it interesting that Groundspeak seems to recognize the importance of these tools by apparently purchasing the domain name of one but not incorporating the function into their primary "product".
It sure would be nice to just have a puzzle checker built into the publish function. Radio button for checker Y/N. No HTML to code. No additional steps. Just choosing whether to include it or not in the cache page. Perhaps even at the waypoint level if a puzzle has multiple points to "check".
To dream the dream of a puzzle cache creator... |
| |
|
|
 |
gotta run
WGA Member

Joined: 2007-11-26
Posts: 3259
|
Posted:
Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:28 am |
|
| -cheeto- wrote: |
I find it interesting that Groundspeak seems to recognize the importance of these tools by apparently purchasing the domain name of one but not incorporating the function into their primary "product".
|
Given how buried this ownership is (most wouldn't know to check the whois DB, and there's no ownership link on the checker page itself), and the fact that the contact link takes you to a user web page for "Goldenhawk," we can only guess at the reasons for this...
Maybe they just bought the domain ownership from the developer to protect their interest in a popular site? |
| |
|
|
 |
|
|