The Wisconsin Geocaching Association

  Login or Register

Website Navigation

62.png Home

49.png Information Center
26.png WGA Newsletters
24.png Reviewer's Words
53.png Presentation Resources
39.png Geocaching Files
27.png Bookmarks
56.png Location Rules and Regs
49.png BOD Info Center

17.png Forums
16.png New Posts
20.png Unanswered Posts

calendar_day.png Upcoming Events
mapicon.png Map
29.png Calendar
11.png Submit Event

mapicon.png WGA State Park CachesNew content !

shield_star.png Cache of the Month
mapicon.png Past Winners Map

LonelyCache.png Lonely Cache Game
mapicon.png Current Map
26.png Scoreboard
11.png Submit Report

rescueiconsm.png Cache Rescue
11.png Submit a Mission

icon_community.gif Members
27.png Your Account
47.png Private Messages
contact_blue.png WGA Member Map
Geocaching_LIVE_poweredby_16.png GC.COM Authorization

icon_members.gif News
tree-T.gif Topics
tree-T.gif Archives
tree-L.gif Submit News

image_cultured.png Photo Gallery
tree-T.gif Updates
tree-L.gif Popular

shield.png Fun Stuff
28.png Recent Logs
TB.gif Picnic to Picnic TB Race Standings
TB.gif WGA Hauler

49.png Board of Directors
 
Contact Us

 
Facebook

Wisconsin Geocaching Association

 
Follow Us

Twitter Button

 
Subscribe to Newsletter

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
 
Geocaching.com Search
View Search Syntax
 
COTM
Winner -
June 2014 Northern Zone:
Forbidden Fruit

Winner -
June 2014 Northeast Zone:
Wildlife & Travel Bug Sanctuary

Winner -
June 2014 West Central Zone:
Pirates of the Roche-a-Cri

Winner -
June 2014 South Central Zone:
The Big "K"

Winner -
June 2014 Southeast Zone:
Whoomp! There It Is

Winner -
June 2014 Series of the Month:


More Info >>>

 
 
Wisconsin Geocaching Association: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
-cheeto-
WGA Member



Joined: 2007-06-12
Posts: 4538
Location: Appleton, WI

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:07 am Reply with quote Back to top

Pulled the plug today and put in an order for an Oregon 550.

Can't wait to play with my new toy. Very Happy

Thanks to everyone for your reviews here on the unit. It helped.

Hoping it will last longer than the last Garmin I bought.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Lostby7
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-06-07
Posts: 3190
Location: Lake country area, WI

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:24 am Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:
Pulled the plug today and put in an order for an Oregon 550.


If you need help with it give me a hollar.....plus I'm up your way quite often as well if you need hands on help....though it will likely be at least three weeks the next time I'll get out that way...I do so love to visit the HuHot

-cheeto- wrote:

Hoping it will last longer than the last Garmin I bought.


I have made a few hundred finds on the unit without significant issues....it's loads of fun....now if only it had an MP3 player built in...
 
View user's profile Send private message
-cheeto-
WGA Member



Joined: 2007-06-12
Posts: 4538
Location: Appleton, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:07 pm Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:
Pulled the plug today and put in an order for an Oregon 550


Have had my new unit in hand for a few hours. (yep I paid the big bucks for shipping)

I have already updated the unit's firmware, downloaded the white based backgrounds, rearranged the menu, loaded my closest 500 caches to home, changed the power on message, and played around with the compass.

Only one question thus far. Can I tell it to go directly to the compass instead of the map when using the Geocaching function? Like older GPS units? I will never use the base maps and have a Nuvi for vehicle navigation purposes. It seems a bit awkward to have to go back to the menu to switch to the compass pointer from the map. Will it not do this if your closer to ground zero? Or does it always jump to the (useless) base map.

Another question, can I take screenshots of what I see on the unit and save them to jpg's? Like if I want to writeup a "review" in my new blog. or do I have to use a digital camera to snap pics?

Other observations:

This is the most user friendly GPS I've ever laid my hands on. Holy cats.

It doesn't take very good pictures in my living room in less than ideal light conditions.

It gets a signal in my house similar to my prior vista Hcx unit. Perhaps it's not as good at getting a signal in some of my rooms..

I like that it keeps count of geocaches found once you set the starting tally.

I was glad to see the menu can be rearranged.

The batteries included and charger must be slow charging. I use rapid charging batteries already so it's not an issue but they've been charging for 4+ hours. My other batteries charge in 15 minutes from empty.

I like the included carbiner (sp?).

I have ordered a screen protector from the only site found via google. Including shipping this added another 20 bucks to the investment but from experience with an ipod touch I knew I wanted to get one.

Can't wait to find some caches with it and try out the field notes upload feature, oh and try out one of those Wherigo caches wink
 
View user's profile Send private message
Lostby7
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-06-07
Posts: 3190
Location: Lake country area, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:13 pm Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:
Pulled the plug today and put in an order for an Oregon 550
So many questions...for one post.


Last edited by Lostby7 on Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:26 pm; edited 1 time in total 
View user's profile Send private message
Lostby7
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-06-07
Posts: 3190
Location: Lake country area, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:20 pm Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:
...can I take screenshots of what I see on the unit and save them to jpg's? Like if I want to writeup a "review" in my new blog. or do I have to use a digital camera to snap pics?

Here's how to do this:
SETUP>DISPLAY>SCREEN CAPTURE>ON>OK

Then a quick push to the button on the side of the unit captures the image.

In the Oregon's folders:

OREGON>GARMIN>SCRN

The images are Bitmap Images (.bmp) not JPG.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Lostby7
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-06-07
Posts: 3190
Location: Lake country area, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:25 pm Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:


It doesn't take very good pictures in my living room in less than ideal light conditions.

There are three capture settings you can choose from be sure to use the highest quality (3.2 I believe). Also there are on screen lighting settings for low lighting...but I have not played with them.

SETUP>CAMERA>PHOTO RESOLUTION

The lighting settings are accessed from the sun setting on the live photo screen in addition to the zoom function.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Lostby7
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-06-07
Posts: 3190
Location: Lake country area, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:30 pm Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:
The batteries included and charger must be slow charging. I use rapid charging batteries already so it's not an issue but they've been charging for 4+ hours. My other batteries charge in 15 minutes from empty.

I never use their batteries or charger. My NiMH batteries take an hour or two to charge but I have a couple dozen with at least 4 charged at all times...but be aware as a side note that NiMH batteries have a self-discharge rate of 5–10% on the first day and stabilizes around 0.5–1% loss per day at room temperature thereafter...so charge them right before you need them to get top performance.

...also be sure you have the correct battery type selected in the units settings...


Last edited by Lostby7 on Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:38 pm; edited 1 time in total 
View user's profile Send private message
Lostby7
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-06-07
Posts: 3190
Location: Lake country area, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:33 pm Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:

Can't wait to find some caches with it and try out the field notes upload feature...

That feature is possibly the best part about the unit aside from the paperless caching...so long as you mark the caches as found (on the unit)each time.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Lostby7
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-06-07
Posts: 3190
Location: Lake country area, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:35 pm Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:
Only one question thus far. Can I tell it to go directly to the compass instead of the map when using the Geocaching function? Like older GPS units? I will never use the base maps and have a Nuvi for vehicle navigation purposes. It seems a bit awkward to have to go back to the menu to switch to the compass pointer from the map. Will it not do this if your closer to ground zero? Or does it always jump to the (useless) base map.

I'm not following you on this question perhaps someone else can chime in on this one?
 
View user's profile Send private message
-cheeto-
WGA Member



Joined: 2007-06-12
Posts: 4538
Location: Appleton, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:36 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Lostby7 wrote:
-cheeto- wrote:
...can I take screenshots of what I see on the unit and save them to jpg's? Like if I want to writeup a "review" in my new blog. or do I have to use a digital camera to snap pics?

Here's how to do this:
SETUP>DISPLAY>SCREEN CAPTURE>ON>OK

Then a quick push to the button on the side of the unit captures the image.

In the Oregon's folders:

OREGON>GARMIN>SCRN

The images are Bitmap Images (.bmp) not JPG.



Excellent. Exactly what I was looking for.
 
View user's profile Send private message
-cheeto-
WGA Member



Joined: 2007-06-12
Posts: 4538
Location: Appleton, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:38 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Lostby7 wrote:
-cheeto- wrote:
Only one question thus far. Can I tell it to go directly to the compass instead of the map when using the Geocaching function? Like older GPS units? I will never use the base maps and have a Nuvi for vehicle navigation purposes. It seems a bit awkward to have to go back to the menu to switch to the compass pointer from the map. Will it not do this if your closer to ground zero? Or does it always jump to the (useless) base map.

I'm not following you on this question perhaps someone else can chime in on this one?


From the menu:

Geocaches
Find a Geocache
Select Cache
Go
Then it shows me the map.

Can I make it show me the compass rather than the map?

That is what I am referring to.

Otherwise I have to 'X' out to the menu and select the compass.

I have rearranged the menu assuming I will have to do it this way so the compass is handy.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Lostby7
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-06-07
Posts: 3190
Location: Lake country area, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:41 pm Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:
Lostby7 wrote:
-cheeto- wrote:
Only one question thus far. Can I tell it to go directly to the compass instead of the map when using the Geocaching function? Like older GPS units? I will never use the base maps and have a Nuvi for vehicle navigation purposes. It seems a bit awkward to have to go back to the menu to switch to the compass pointer from the map. Will it not do this if your closer to ground zero? Or does it always jump to the (useless) base map.

I'm not following you on this question perhaps someone else can chime in on this one?


From the menu:

Geocaches
Find a Geocache
Select Cache
Go
Then it shows me the map.

Can I make it show me the compass rather than the map?

That is what I am referring to.

Otherwise I have to 'X' out to the menu and select the compass.

I have rearranged the menu assuming I will have to do it this way so the compass is handy.

Not the way I have mine set up....There are tons of settings to monkey with on this unit so I wouldn't be surprised if it were possible, but I couldn't tell you how to accomplish it...plus I'm not optimistic that the functionality exists. I have my compass on the same screen as the Geocaching function for the easy switchover.


Last edited by Lostby7 on Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:42 pm; edited 1 time in total 
View user's profile Send private message
-cheeto-
WGA Member



Joined: 2007-06-12
Posts: 4538
Location: Appleton, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:42 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Lostby7 wrote:
-cheeto- wrote:


It doesn't take very good pictures in my living room in less than ideal light conditions.

There are three capture settings you can choose from be sure to use the highest quality (3.2 I believe). Also there are on screen lighting settings for low lighting...but I have not played with them.

SETUP>CAMERA>PHOTO RESOLUTION

The lighting settings are accessed from the sun setting on the live photo screen in addition to the zoom function.


I didn't notice that sun icon. Very cool.
 
View user's profile Send private message
-cheeto-
WGA Member



Joined: 2007-06-12
Posts: 4538
Location: Appleton, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:45 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Lostby7 wrote:
-cheeto- wrote:
Lostby7 wrote:
-cheeto- wrote:
Only one question thus far. Can I tell it to go directly to the compass instead of the map when using the Geocaching function? Like older GPS units? I will never use the base maps and have a Nuvi for vehicle navigation purposes. It seems a bit awkward to have to go back to the menu to switch to the compass pointer from the map. Will it not do this if your closer to ground zero? Or does it always jump to the (useless) base map.

I'm not following you on this question perhaps someone else can chime in on this one?


From the menu:

Geocaches
Find a Geocache
Select Cache
Go
Then it shows me the map.

Can I make it show me the compass rather than the map?

That is what I am referring to.

Otherwise I have to 'X' out to the menu and select the compass.

I have rearranged the menu assuming I will have to do it this way so the compass is handy.

Not the way I have mine set up....There are tons of settings to monkey with on this unit so I wouldn't be surprised if it were possible, but I couldn't tell you how to accomplish it...plus I'm not optimistic that the functionality exists. I have my compass on the same screen as the Geocaching function for the easy switchover.


That's what I figured. I do like the geocaching compass view too. I will get used to switching to the compass from the map. Not a biggie. This is sort of handy to have the map at some times (and with the topo/street maps it would make much more sense)

Thanks for all your help.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Lostby7
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-06-07
Posts: 3190
Location: Lake country area, WI

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:46 pm Reply with quote Back to top

-cheeto- wrote:
This is sort of handy to have the map at some times (and with the topo/street maps it would make much more sense)

Thanks for all your help.

I have the street maps so I use the map (I'm Nuvi-less) and the compass...all the time.

Yer welcome...have fun.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group
:: Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Ported for PHP-Nuke by nukemods.com ::
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©
 
Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Parental Consent Form | contact | Comments ]

All content © 2013 Wisconsin Geocaching Association, except comments and forum entries which are property of their posters.

The Groundspeak Geocaching Logo is a registered trademark of Groundspeak, Inc. Used with permission.
 


Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the WGA Terms of Use


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.13 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::