The Wisconsin Geocaching Association

  Login or Register

Website Navigation

62.png Home

49.png Information Center
26.png WGA Newsletters
24.png Reviewer's Words
53.png Presentation Resources
39.png Geocaching Files
27.png Bookmarks
56.png Location Rules and Regs
49.png BOD Info Center

17.png Forums
16.png New Posts
20.png Unanswered Posts

calendar_day.png Upcoming Events
mapicon.png Map
29.png Calendar
11.png Submit Event

mapicon.png WGA State Park CachesNew content !

shield_star.png Cache of the Month
mapicon.png Past Winners Map

LonelyCache.png Lonely Cache Game
mapicon.png Current Map
26.png Scoreboard
11.png Submit Report

rescueiconsm.png Cache Rescue
11.png Submit a Mission

icon_community.gif Members
27.png Your Account
47.png Private Messages
contact_blue.png WGA Member Map
Geocaching_LIVE_poweredby_16.png GC.COM Authorization

icon_members.gif News
tree-T.gif Topics
tree-T.gif Archives
tree-L.gif Submit News

image_cultured.png Photo Gallery
tree-T.gif Updates
tree-L.gif Popular

shield.png Fun Stuff
28.png Recent Logs
TB.gif Picnic to Picnic TB Race Standings
TB.gif WGA Hauler

49.png Board of Directors
 
Contact Us

 
Facebook

Wisconsin Geocaching Association

 
Follow Us

Twitter Button

 
Subscribe to Newsletter

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
 
Geocaching.com Search
View Search Syntax
 
COTM
Winner -
June 2014 Northern Zone:
Forbidden Fruit

Winner -
June 2014 Northeast Zone:
Wildlife & Travel Bug Sanctuary

Winner -
June 2014 West Central Zone:
Pirates of the Roche-a-Cri

Winner -
June 2014 South Central Zone:
The Big "K"

Winner -
June 2014 Southeast Zone:
Whoomp! There It Is

Winner -
June 2014 Series of the Month:


More Info >>>

 
 
Wisconsin Geocaching Association: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
huffinpuffin2
WGA Member



Joined: 2009-07-17
Posts: 2623
Location: Puffindoofer

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:55 am Reply with quote Back to top

Chatauqua560 wrote:
Now if only there was a way to make a spreadsheet too. I can make a text doc but haven't figured out the spreadsheet.


Kinda close:

FILE
PRINT
GRID COLUMNS
REPORT HEADING (If you want)
PREVIEW
then PRINT if you like what you see.


Otherwise there may be some macros....but the above is the quickest
 
View user's profile Send private message
CodeJunkie
WGA Member



Joined: 2009-07-21
Posts: 8193
Location: Berlin, WI

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:12 am Reply with quote Back to top

You can also do the following:

File
Export
CSV or TXT

I do this using the TXT format and then import directly into Excel to manipulate how I want it.

A "hint" is to define multiple "Views" within GSAK. I have my "Default" view that I use for using the application. I've also defined an "Export" view that I select when I want to send the data to Excel. The "Export" view has a smaller select view of columns and once in Excel I can manipulate it (sort, color, pagination, etc.) how I want (i.e. one page per state if you want).
 
View user's profile Send private message
Todd300




Joined: 2009-06-05
Posts: 2430
Location: Menominee, MI

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 4:36 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Chatauqua560 wrote:
Now if only there was a way to make a spreadsheet too. I can make a text doc but haven't figured out the spreadsheet.


You can make it into a spreadsheet if you export into a .csv file.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Team Deejay
WGA Member



Joined: 2005-10-02
Posts: 2389
Location: Rochester, WI, US

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 11:31 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Just export a CSV file and open the file in Excel.

_________________
Team DeeJay
Dave and Julie 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Chatauqua560
WGA Member



Joined: 2011-02-22
Posts: 2396
Location: Ripon WI

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:04 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Thanks guys ... I now have a nice file to keep on my desktop and a paper copy incase the GPS hides the caches. All the info will be there to put in as a WP in need be. Also got the GSAK file moved to the Dropbox so I can use either PC. Yippee!

_________________
MapQuest and Google maps really need to start their directions on #5. Pretty sure everyone knows how to get out of their own neighborhood. 
View user's profile Send private message
Chatauqua560
WGA Member



Joined: 2011-02-22
Posts: 2396
Location: Ripon WI

PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:21 am Reply with quote Back to top

Here's a "Stumper" maybe! I loaded 622 caches via GSAK and then loaded 6 more using a PQ in GC. The 622 caches disappeared and only the six were left. Why is that? Guess I'' go hunt on the GSAK forum to see if I can find the answer.

_________________
MapQuest and Google maps really need to start their directions on #5. Pretty sure everyone knows how to get out of their own neighborhood. 
View user's profile Send private message
huffinpuffin2
WGA Member



Joined: 2009-07-17
Posts: 2623
Location: Puffindoofer

PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:35 am Reply with quote Back to top

Chatauqua560 wrote:
Here's a "Stumper" maybe! I loaded 622 caches via GSAK and then loaded 6 more using a PQ in GC. The 622 caches disappeared and only the six were left. Why is that? Guess I'' go hunt on the GSAK forum to see if I can find the answer.


If the files have the same name, the second edition would have replaced the first. Did the two files have unique names?
 
View user's profile Send private message
sweetlife
WGA Board Member
WGA Board Member



Joined: 2005-01-17
Posts: 2535
Location: Mountain, WI

PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:08 pm Reply with quote Back to top

or there is a check box that was checked or unchecked depending on the Macro used to load the GPSr that said to clear the GPS first.

_________________
The post above is purely the opinion of the poster and is no way connected to the opinions of the WGA Board.

Looking for a pathtag idea check out Freak Designs 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
labrat_wr
WGA Vice-President
WGA Vice-President



Joined: 2007-05-19
Posts: 6042
Location: The Wildside

PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:24 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Okay all you GSAK Junkies....

I recently updated to GSAK 8.2.0.11 and the macro I used to use for loading my nuvi200 doesn't appear to be supported anymore. I really liked that macro as it loaded the description and last 5 logs, hint and other stuff. I can still run that macro but the POI loader apparently isn't in the correct location for it to upload, and the POI loader is a version or two newer(2.7.2.0) than what the macro is indicating (2.5.2)

anyway, I guess with my Magellen 610, and cgeo: and my nuvi loaded with just the cache coords and status, I should be okay but if there is a comparable macro that would load things like the old pilotsnipes macro, please let me know or if someone knows how/where to load the POI loader so the macro recognizes it, that would be great.

sorry if I stole this thread Smile

_________________
Operor vel Operor Non , Illic Est Haud Tendo

All forum posts are the thoughts and opinions of the poster and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts and opinions of the WGA Board of Directors 
View user's profile Send private message
sweetlife
WGA Board Member
WGA Board Member



Joined: 2005-01-17
Posts: 2535
Location: Mountain, WI

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 5:07 am Reply with quote Back to top

Pete,

The same thing happened to me when we updated to 8 here.

I have been using this macro: http://gsak.net/board/index.php?s=e77433a1a3217a555eb6b58713206517&showtopic=19727&st=0&#entry160962

you will have to use POI loader to clear your nuvi, but it is not needed to load caches to it.

the one nice feature is if you load more than one database on it keeps them separate, I load where we are going, but also have a LCG loaded in, easy way to find the lonelys.

_________________
The post above is purely the opinion of the poster and is no way connected to the opinions of the WGA Board.

Looking for a pathtag idea check out Freak Designs 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Chatauqua560
WGA Member



Joined: 2011-02-22
Posts: 2396
Location: Ripon WI

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 5:45 am Reply with quote Back to top

huffinpuffin2 wrote:
Chatauqua560 wrote:
Here's a "Stumper" maybe! I loaded 622 caches via GSAK and then loaded 6 more using a PQ in GC. The 622 caches disappeared and only the six were left. Why is that? Guess I'' go hunt on the GSAK forum to see if I can find the answer.


If the files have the same name, the second edition would have replaced the first. Did the two files have unique names?


Files do not have the same name. I loaded 622 caches using the database I made in GSAK and the 6 were loaded one by one from GC.
 
View user's profile Send private message
labrat_wr
WGA Vice-President
WGA Vice-President



Joined: 2007-05-19
Posts: 6042
Location: The Wildside

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 7:56 am Reply with quote Back to top

sweetlife wrote:
Pete,

The same thing happened to me when we updated to 8 here.

I have been using this macro: http://gsak.net/board/index.php?s=e77433a1a3217a555eb6b58713206517&showtopic=19727&st=0&#entry160962

you will have to use POI loader to clear your nuvi, but it is not needed to load caches to it.

the one nice feature is if you load more than one database on it keeps them separate, I load where we are going, but also have a LCG loaded in, easy way to find the lonelys.


Thanks Barry, I will try that. I will have to wait until after my trip this time but I will get by with three different pieces of electronics. Smile

_________________
Operor vel Operor Non , Illic Est Haud Tendo

All forum posts are the thoughts and opinions of the poster and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts and opinions of the WGA Board of Directors 
View user's profile Send private message
labrat_wr
WGA Vice-President
WGA Vice-President



Joined: 2007-05-19
Posts: 6042
Location: The Wildside

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:41 pm Reply with quote Back to top

sweetlife wrote:
Pete,

The same thing happened to me when we updated to 8 here.

I have been using this macro: http://gsak.net/board/index.php?s=e77433a1a3217a555eb6b58713206517&showtopic=19727&st=0&#entry160962

you will have to use POI loader to clear your nuvi, but it is not needed to load caches to it.

the one nice feature is if you load more than one database on it keeps them separate, I load where we are going, but also have a LCG loaded in, easy way to find the lonelys.


Barry, in talking with Raslas this weekend, I found out that the old Pilotsnipes macro will still work with GSAK 8 though may not continue to be supported at all in the future. Now getting the POI loader into the correct location so it can find it was a pain but I think I got it now. Just copying the folder from my other computer didn't do it but then I noticed the POI application which launched the installation of the POI loader and then when running the macro, I had to choose the location of the POI loader.

_________________
Operor vel Operor Non , Illic Est Haud Tendo

All forum posts are the thoughts and opinions of the poster and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts and opinions of the WGA Board of Directors 
View user's profile Send private message
labrat_wr
WGA Vice-President
WGA Vice-President



Joined: 2007-05-19
Posts: 6042
Location: The Wildside

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:51 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Whoo Hooo! 3250 waypoints loaded just like in the old days.

_________________
Operor vel Operor Non , Illic Est Haud Tendo

All forum posts are the thoughts and opinions of the poster and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts and opinions of the WGA Board of Directors 
View user's profile Send private message
Todd300




Joined: 2009-06-05
Posts: 2430
Location: Menominee, MI

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:58 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I've been using the Pilotsnipes macro the whole time. I never had a problem.

All I had to do was run the macro. Then run the POI loader manually and presto, the Nuvi is loaded.

Still using the Pilotsnipes macro so as long as it is supported. Have not checked the other Nuvi macros yet.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group
:: Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Ported for PHP-Nuke by nukemods.com ::
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©
 
Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Parental Consent Form | contact | Comments ]

All content © 2013 Wisconsin Geocaching Association, except comments and forum entries which are property of their posters.

The Groundspeak Geocaching Logo is a registered trademark of Groundspeak, Inc. Used with permission.
 


Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the WGA Terms of Use


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.10 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::